Author: Claude Brebsom

Special Tour “The surface part of Walert mine”

Sunday, May 29 2022 – Start 15:00 Discover the surface part of the Walert mine during an outdoor walking tour. A special museum guide shows you old buildings from the early 20th Century, machines from Sweden and the USA, locomotives or the remains of an old powder store and much more…. You will also learn how the landscape was changed by open-cast mining. Want to experience industrial history in the fresh air? Duration: 1,5h Price per person: 5€ For reservations and tickets : https://mnm.re [...]

Digital tour with iPad

During the Luxembourg Museum Days 2022 Sneak preview at the MNM: During the “Luxembourg Museum Days” on 14 and 15 May 2022, you can take part in a preview of our new digital guided tour. Let the world in the tunnel revive through electronic animations almost as in reality. Departures : 14 :00, 15 :00, 16 :00 and 17:00 Limited up to 15 participants / Duration: 1.5 / free entry

Special Tour “The miner’s tools”

Thursday, April 21 at 19:00 In the early days of iron ore mining, miners relied on their manual tools like e.g. crosshoe, the mass or the tourniki. With the special tour "The miner’s tools" in our underground mine, you can even take this tool into your own hands and try it out. You will get many interesting details from a specialized museum guide. Duration: 1.30 Entrance and exit on foot Tariffs: adults 12.00 €, students 10.00 €, children 9.00 € Interested in? For the booking and the tickets ple [...]

Special tour “drilling machines”

Thursday, March 10 at 19:00 Drilling into the rock to break it by blasting is one of the miner’s most important works. From the "Turniki" hand drill of the XIX century to the large jumbo on tires and computer-controlled from the 1980s, you will get to know our collection of MNM drilling machines. A specialized museum guide will present them to you in the underground tunnel during a sightseeing tour of about 1km. Duration: 1:30 Tarif:  adults 12 €, Students 10 €, children 9 € (up t [...]

Hereditary Grand Duke Guillaume and his wife at the MNM

After Grand Duke Jean attended the opening in 1973, Hereditary Grand Duke, Prince Guillaume, accompanied by his wife, Princess Stéphanie, visited the National Mining Museum Rumelange on 11.02.2022. Also present were Minister of Tourism, Lex Delles, Mayor and MNM President, Henri Haine as well as the members of the aldermanic and municipal council. A big Thank you for M. René Scho for the nice photos.

The MNM is open

Our museum is open again for you. From Thursday to Sunday, you can take part in a sightseeing tour in our underground tunnel without booking. Departures: 14:30, 15:30 and 16:30. Rates: adults 9€, students 7€ and children 5€ A protective mask is highly recommanded on our mine train. We look forward to your visit.  

A lot to discover

In our underground tunnel there is something to discover in every corner and behind every pillar. Come and see for yourself during a tour on 13 February and 13 March. Departures: 14.30 and 15.30 Duration: 2 hoursPrice: 9 € for adults, 7 € for students and 5 € for children up to the age of 15 years included.   For booking and tickets please click on the following link: https://mnm.regiondo.fr/visite-guidee-mine-train

The MNM on Radio ARA

Raffaella Campobasso, in charge of Direction, was a guest on Radio ARA to present our museum. A big thank you for that. https://passaparola.info/web/2022/01/30/voices-raffaella-campobasso-direttrice-del-musee-national-des-mines-de-fer/?fbclid=IwAR1XYMc156iRU83xm1TyW5kO2ebkQthr54qr4qknFVOyppAZF7uk0fIIGTc

Become a museum guide or train driver in the MNM

Are you interested in guiding groups of adults and children through 150 years of iron ore history as a museum guide (m/f) in the MNM? Or are you fascinated as a locomotive driver with our mine railway to bring the visitors into the underground tunnels? Perhaps you would like to take a look behind the scenes of our museum?If you want to be freelance for the MNM, then contact us for an appointment at info@mnm.lu. We look forward to your interest and visit.

Autor: Claude Brebsom

Spezial Besichtigungstour „Die Tagesanalgen der Grube Walert“

Sonntag, 29. Mai 2022 – Start 15:00       Entdecken Sie den Außenbereich die Tagesanlagen der Grube Walert während einer Fußtour im Freien. Ein spezialisierter Museumsführer zeigt Ihnen alte Gebäude vom Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts, Maschinen aus Schweden und den USA, Lokomotiven oder die Überreste eines alten Pulverlagers und vieles mehr…. Sie lernen auch, wie die Landschaft durch den Tagebau verändert wurde. Lust, die Industriegeschichte an der frischen Luft zu erleben? [...]

Digitale Führung mit iPad

Für die Luxembourg Museum Days am 14. und 15. Mai 2022 Eine Vorpremiere im MNM: Während den „Luxembourg Museum Days“ am 14. Und 15. Mai 2022 können Sie in einer Vorpremiere an unserer neuen digitalen Führung teilnehmen. Lassen Sie die Welt im Stollen durch elektronische Animationen fast wie in der Realität wieder aufleben. Startzeiten: 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 und 17:00 Uhr Begrenzt auf 15 Teilnehmer / Dauer: 1,5St. / Eintritt frei

Spezial Führung “Werkzeuge der manuellen Arbeit”

Donnerstag, 21 April um 19:00 Uhr In der Anfangszeit des Eisenerzabbaus waren die Bergmänner auf ihr manuelles Werkzeug angewiesen wie z. B. den Treibfäustel, die Keilhaue oder die Handbohrmaschine mit Brustblech und Kurbel. Bei der Spezial Führung „Das Gezähe des Bergmanns“ in unserem unterirdischen Stollen dürfen Sie sogar selber diese Werkzeuge in die Hände nehmen und ausprobieren. Dabei erhalten Sie viele interessante Einzelheiten von einem spezialisierten Museumsführer. Dauer: 1.30 St. Eing [...]

Das MNM hat geöffnet

Unser Museum ist wieder für Sie geöffnet. Vom Donnerstag bis Sonntag können Sie ohne Reservierung an einer Besichtigungstour in unserem unterirdischen Stollen teilnehmen. Startzeiten: 14:30, 15:30 und 16:30 Uhr. Tarife: Erwachsene 9€, Studenten 7€ und Kinder 5€ In unserer Grubenbahn bleibt das Tragen einer Schutzmaske sehr empfohlen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch.

Spezial Führung “Bohrmaschinen”

Donnerstag, 10. März um 19:00 Uhr In den Felsen bohren um ihn durch Sprengungen zu zerbrechen ist eine der wichtigsten Arbeiten des Bergmanns. Von Handbohrer „Turniki“ des XIX Jahrhunderts bis zum großen Jumbo auf Reifen und computergesteuert aus den 1980er Jahren werden Sie unsere Sammlung von Bohrmaschinen kennenlernen. Ein spezialisierter Museumsführer wird sie Ihnen in dem unterirdischen Stollen während einer Besichtigungstour von ungefähr 1Km präsentieren. Dauer: 1St.30 Tarif: Erwachsener 1 [...]

Erbgroßherzog Guillaume und seine Gemahlin im MNM

Nachdem 1973 Großherzog Jean der Eröffnung beiwohnte, stattete sein Enkel, Erbgroßherzog, Prinz Guillaume, in Begleitung seiner Gemahlin, Prinzessin Stéphanie, dem Nationalen Bergbaumuseum Rümelingen am 11.02.2022 einen Besuch ab. Anwesend waren ebenfalls Tourismusminister, Lex Delles, Bürgermeister und MNM Präsident, Henri Haine sowie die Mitglieder des Schöffen- und Gemeinderats. Ein großes Dankeschön an H. René Scho für die schönen Fotos.

Viel zu entdecken

In unserem unterirdischen Stollen gibt es viel zu entdecken in jeder Ecke und hinter jedem Pfeiler. Kommen Sie sich selber überzeugen im Rahmen einer Besichtigungstour am 13. Feburar und am 13. März. Startzeiten: 14:30 und 15:30 UhrDauer: 2 StundenPreis: 9 € für Erwachsene, 7 € für Studenten und 5 € für Kinder bis 15 Jahre inbegiffen. Für die Reservierung und die Tickets klicken Sie bitte auf folgenden Link: https://mnm.regiondo.fr/visite-guidee-mine-train    

Das MNM auf Radio ARA

Unser Direktionsbeauftrage, Frau Raffaella Campobasso, war Gast bei Radio ARA um unser Museum vorzustellen. Ein großes Dankschön dafür. https://passaparola.info/web/2022/01/30/voices-raffaella-campobasso-direttrice-del-musee-national-des-mines-de-fer/?fbclid=IwAR1XYMc156iRU83xm1TyW5kO2ebkQthr54qr4qknFVOyppAZF7uk0fIIGTc

Werden Sie Museums – oder Lokführer im MNM

Sind Sie interessiert,  als Museumsführer (m/f) im MNM Gruppen von Erwachsenen und Kindern durch 150 Jahre Eisenerzgeschichte zu führen? Oder sind Sie fasziniert, als Lokführer mit unserer Grubenbahn die Besucher in den unterirdischen Stollen zu bringen? Vielleicht wollen Sie mal einen Blick hinter die Kulissen unseres Museums werfen? Wenn Sie freelance für das MNM aktiv sein wollen, dann melden Sie sich bei uns für einen Termin unter info@mnm.lu. Oder kommen Sie einfach am Samstag, den 30. [...]