Author: Claude Brebsom

Guided mine tour & train

From october 2022 up to March 2023 on the second Sunday of each month Our main season slowly is coming to an end. But from October 2022 up to March 2023, you can still participate on the second Sunday of each month as an individual in a guided tour. You just need to click on the link below for booking and for the tickets: https://mnm.regiondo.fr/visite-guidee-mine-train-225958

Electric locomotives by «General Electric»

Two electric locomotives from « General Electric » can be seen in our main tunnel. They drive with 500 volts, weigh 9 tons and bring it to a maximum speed of 14 km/h. One of the locomotives, number 23, was added cabin in Rodange. The locomotive number 24 has two compressed air cylinders to operate an air brake. Thus the other locomotive and its wagon train with its new 6 tons conveyor wagons could be slowed down. Therefore the two locomotives were linked together.

Opening hours in September 2022

In September our museum is open for you from Thursday to Sunday so that you can participate without reservation in a tour to our underground gallery. Departures: 2.30pm, 3.30pm and 4.30pm. Rates: €9 for adults, €7 for students and €5 for children We look forward to your visit.

The ways of the Iron – geopoetic hike through the old opencast mines

Sunday, 18 September 2022 During this hike we will explore the landscapes of the ancient iron mines around Rumelange. Remains of the past, red rocks and the vast area of the Léiffrächen canyon will inspire us with a geographical story that will change our perception of the territory, its past and the future. With readings from the book «Rocklines - a geopoetic journey through the Minett UNESCO Biosphere». Hike of 10 km, for people with a minimum of fitness. Provide good walking shoes and a snack [...]

Our recipe for an exciting experience:

Ingredients: 1) 20-minute ride on the mine train, 2) 1.5 hours. guided tour of our gallery, 3) an underground exhibition of the period from 1870 to 1997, 4) machines as big as dinosaurs, 5) the whole seasoned with explanations and anecdotes of our museum guides. Did you get an appetite? The museum is open from 2:00 pm from Thursday to Sunday. Start times of the guided tours: 2:30 pm, 3:30 pm and 4:30 pm  

Locomotive from the years 1915-25

In a side gallery of the main tunnel Walert you can see a red electric locomotive from the years 1912-1925. It was built by the German company AEG. With two electric motors it has a weight of 18 tons and 61 HP. The locomotive was used in French ARBED tunnels such as the Montrouge tunnel and is part of our collection in 1998.

Three components of a visit to the MNM

A visit to the MNM consists of: an exhibition at the reception + 3.8 km mine train + a guided tour 80m underground. From Tuesday to Sunday the starting times are: 14:30, 15:30 and 16:30

Project of 360° movie

Recently a group of the project Fanthomes was in our tunnel. Some shots were made for a 360° movie for Spektrum.lu about myths, legends and folklore from the region of Rumelange. Children and people from the surrounding area made among other things the costumes.

Two locomotives soon almost like new

The two articulated electric locomotives at the entrance to the road near the Cimalux in Rumelange are currently being refurbished by a team of the CIGL Rumelange. Many thanks for this.

More than 80 m underground

Is it too warm outside? More than 80 m below the ground, in addition to a cooling (10°), you can discover the following: large tunnels on two soles with impressive cavities and exhibited tools and machines from 1860 to 1997. Get pleasure? We are open for you from Tuesday to Sunday - Departures of the guided tours: 14:30, 15:30 and 16:30

Auteur/autrice : Claude Brebsom

Visite Mine & Train

Entre Octrobre 2022 et Mars 2023 le deuxième dimanche de chaque mois Notre haute saison touche à sa fin. Cependant entre octobre 2022 et mars 2023 le deuxième dimanche de chaque mois, vous pouvez continuer à participer à une visite guidée en tant que personnes individuelles. Il vous suffit de cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous pour la réservation et les billets : https://mnm.regiondo.fr/visite-guidee-mine-train-225958

Locomotives électriques «General Electric»

Deux locomotives électriques de « General Electric », qui ont été utilisées à la MMR de Rodange, sont exposées dans notre galerie principale. Elles roulent à 500 volts, pèsent 9 tonnes et atteignent une vitesse maximale de 14,5 km/h. L’une des locomotives, celles portant le numéro 23, a été équipée d’une cabine à Rodange. La loc numéro 24 avait des réservoirs d’air comprimé qui ont permis de freiner l’autre locomotive et sa rame avec les nouvelles berlines de 6 tonnes. Pour que cela soit possibl [...]

Les chemins du fer – randonnée géo poétique à travers les anciennes minières

Dimanche, 18 Septembre 2022 Lors de cette randonnée nous explorerons les paysages des anciennes mines de fer autour de Rumelange. Vestiges du passé, roches rouges et le vaste espace du canyon de la Léiffrächen nous inspireront un récit géographique qui changera notre perception du territoire, de son passé et du futur. Avec lectures du livre « Rocklines - un voyage géopoétique à travers la Minett UNESCO Biosphère ». Randonnée de 10 km, pour personnes ayant un minimum de condition physique. Prévoi [...]

Notre recette pour une expérience passionnante

Ingrédients : 1) 20 minutes de trajet en train minier, 2) 1,5h visite guidée de notre mine, 3) une exposition souterraine de 1870 à 1997,  4) des machines de la taille d’un dinosaure, 5) le tout assaisonné avec des explications et des anecdotes de nos guides. Vous avez de l’appétit ? Le musée est ouvert à partir de 14h00 du jeudi au dimanche et les visites guidées commencent à 14h30, 15h30 et 16h30

Locomotive des années 1915-25

Dans une galerie latérale de la galerie principale de Walert, on remarque une locomotive électrique rouge des années 1912-1925, construite par la société allemande AEG. Avec deux moteurs électriques, elle pèse 18 t et arrive à une force de 61chs. La locomotive a été utilisée dans les galeries françaises de l’ARBED, par exemple dans la mine Montrouge. Depuis 1998, elle fait partie de la collection de notre musée.

Les trois composantes d’une visite au MNM

La visite au MNM comprend : une exposition à la réception + 3,8 km train minier + visite guidée 80m sous terre. Du Mardi au Dimanche, les départs sont : 14:30, 15:30 et 16:30

Projet de film à 360°

Récemment, un groupe du projet Fanthomes était dans notre mine. Quelques images ont été prises pour un film à 360° pour Spektrum.lu sur les mythes, les légendes et le folklore du coin de Rumelange. Les enfants et les gens de la région ont notamment confectionné les costumes.

Deux locomotives bientôt comme neuves

Les deux locomotives électriques articulées à l’entrée de la route près de la Cimalux à Rumelange sont actuellement remises en état par une équipe du CIGL Rumelange. Un grand merci pour cela.

Plus de 80 m sous terre

Vous avez trop chaud dehors ? Outre le refroidissement (10°), vous découvrez à plus de 80 m sous terre de grandes galeries sur deux niveaux avec des cavités impressionnantes et des outils et machines exposés de 1860 à 1997. Avez-vous envie ? Nous sommes ouverts pour vous du mardi au dimanche - Heures de départ des visites guidées : 14h30, 15h30 et 16h30  

La machine la plus lourde de notre exposition

De 1957 à 1997, l’ARBED a utilisé cette locomotive électrique à bogies dans les galeries françaises. Il s’agit avec ses 44 tonnes de la machine la plus lourde de notre musée. Elle a été construite par la société Jeumont (F) en 1957. La locomotive est équipée de quatre moteurs électriques de 153ch chacun et a été utilisés dans les mines Burbach et Audun. Depuis l’an 2000, elle fait partie de notre exposition souterraine.